Family History Binder – Part 1 – Intro

For Christmas 2016, I put together a family history binder for my father-in-law. I began at the beginning of September with the intention of including both his paternal and maternal lines, but with a baby taking up most of my time I was only able to complete the Reynolds side. This book contains information about his father (my husband’s grandfather) and 3 generations back from there, so 15 direct ancestors total. Eventually I would love to be able to create them for all of our family lines.

When I finally finished it on December 23rd, I decided to post a few pictures of the final product in a Facebook group called “The Organized Genealogist”. Within a few hours my post had over 2000 likes and close to 500 comments consisting of hundreds of questions and requests for tutorials. So here is my tutorial that will hopefully answer all of your questions and help you create a similar book for your family.

It took me a while to get through everything since I could only work during my son’s naptimes, so I divided it up into multiple posts that can be found here:

Part 2 – Materials

Part 3 – Dividers

Part 4 – Photos

Part 5 – Timelines and Maps

Part 6 – Documents

7 thoughts on “Family History Binder – Part 1 – Intro

  1. Karen January 11, 2017 / 11:29 am

    This is amazing ! I am doing something similar but you are way more organized. This is great ! Well done!

    Like

  2. Sandra Parks January 11, 2017 / 7:26 pm

    Thank you for posting your approach to organizing family history information. I had set up binders years ago, but from time to time….okay, frequently took pieces out so I would have to carry around a large binder. As a result, I now have the most UN-organized, compilation of bits and pieces of information. I’m going to day to get all the materials you listed and will attempt to add organization to my beloved “mess”!

    Like

    • Sandra Parks January 11, 2017 / 7:28 pm

      Sorry for my above comment! I meant to say that I took pieces out so I would NOT have to carry around a large binder!

      Like

  3. Kay January 12, 2017 / 4:18 am

    My mother did this similar thing. She has 4 3inch binders of our family history that she did over 20 years ago. Now that she has passed, it is a treasure. I know the hard work you put into this binder and see somethings I going to try. Good for you.

    Like

  4. eclecticbookwormgmail February 25, 2017 / 1:14 am

    Hi! Love this project! Can you tell me which font you used for the cover? Thanks!

    Like

    • jessaroni February 25, 2017 / 2:12 am

      Thanks! The font is called Castellar.

      Like

Leave a Reply

